Look What I Made: Map Tray

I’m a crafty person.  Being crafty and having a blog seems like a good combination. Unfortunately, I’m not one of those crafty people who remembers to take pictures and document what I’m doing.  In fact, my camera has been broken since a Kentucky Derby party over a year ago, so you’ll have to settle for a low quality camera phone picture of my latest project.


Lately, I’ve decided I should figure out a cohesive style for my home.  I haven’t had much luck because I tend to have very eclectic tastes when it comes to home decor.  But I like maps and I had a tray left over from a failed attempt at stenciling, so I decided to cover the tray with an old map. Here’s what I did.

You’ll need:

  • A wooden tray (mine came from Michael’s for about $5)
  • Mod Podge
  • A brush/sponge
  • An old map
  • Exacto knive
  • Scissors

Figuring out the how to wrap a piece of paper around a tray with lots of corners and curves was the most challenging part of this project.

After painstakingly figuring out how to get the map to fit over my tray, i slathered mod podge all over the place.  Then I put the map down, smoothing it as I went.  I didn’t do a very good job of it.  There are a lot of wrinkles, but I can live with that.  I’ll just pretend they add a vintage look to it.  After gluing map all over the tray, I covered it with another layer of mod podge.  Let dry and you’ve got yourself a fancy new tray.

I also found this weird camel figurine at a thrift store that I’m going to paint.  I’m thinking gold.  Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

