Oil & Vinegar Potato Salad

I think mayonnaise is gross. There’s something about it that just seems unnatural. I know it’s not really — mayo is just oil, vinegar, and egg, after all. Three things I love. But it still gives me the creeps. And so I avoid it. Sometimes, though, I really want potato salad.

Potato salad usually brings to mind chunks of potato drowning in copious gobs of mayo. It doesn’t have to be that way! When I make potato salad, I use oil and vinegar instead. Throw in a hard boiled egg or two and the salad gets almost the same consistency as the traditional mayo route, but I can sleep easy knowing there’s none of that eerie whitish goo on my potatoes.

Oil & Vinegar Potato Salad (makes 6 servings)

  • 1 lb smallish red potatoes
  • 4 hard boiled eggs
  • half a red onion
  • 3 tbsp fresh parsley
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3-4 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Wash the potatoes and cut them into bite sized pieces. Boil for about 10 minutes, or until soft. Meanwhile, finely slice the red onion. Slice the hard boiled eggs and chop the parsley.

When the potatoes are cooked, drain and rinse with cold water. Put them in a large bowl with the onion, egg, and parsley. Top with olive oil and vinegar. Stir until everything is good and coated. Add salt and pepper to taste. The oil and vinegar will combine with the egg yolk to become creamy. This salad is delicious when the potatoes are still warm and gets even better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

